Skip to Main Content

Cellist Gita Ladd and Pianist Asiya Korepanova

FESTIVAL BALTIMORE: The Complete Cello Sonatas by Beethoven

Friday, June 23, 2017
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Concert Hall

The eighth and closing concert of the premiere Festival Baltimore presents acclaimed cellist Gita Ladd and pianist Asiya Korepanova performing a legendary collection of cello sonatas by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827):

  • Sonata No. 1 in F major, Op. 5 No. 1 (1796)
  • Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op. 5 No. 2 (1796)
  • Sonata No. 3 in A major, Op. 69 (1808)
  • Sonata No. 4 in C major, Op. 102, No. 1 (1815)
  • Sonata No. 5 in D major, Op. 102, No. 2 (1815)

Cellist Gita Ladd has performed throughout the United States, Europe, Russia, India, Japan, Korea and Taiwan with recitals and as a soloist with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra, Knoxville Symphony Orchestra, Concert Artists of Baltimore, Baltimore Chamber Orchestra, and others. She collaborates with the Washington Concert Opera, Post Classical Ensemble of Washington D.C and the former Baltimore Opera Company. During the summers Ladd performs as Principal Cellist at the Endless Mountain Music Festival and has soloed with the festival orchestra numerous times. She also performs throughout the year at the Kennedy Center with various ensembles including the Washington National Opera.

Ms. Ladd has served on the faculty of the Peabody Conservatory of Music at Johns Hopkins University and in 2006 joined the faculty at UMBC. Along with her cello studio and faculty recitals, she also performs with the Ruckus new music ensemble. She attended the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, the Cleveland Institute of Music and the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music.

The fiery Russian-born pianist Asiya Korepanova has established a career as an international virtuoso, with performances in Russia, England, France, Germany, Austria, Spain, Italy, Luxembourg, Greece, the Czech Republic, Australia, Kuwait, and India. In the United States, she has been presented by the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C., the Bargemusic Series in New York, the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Series and Pianoforte Foundation Series in Chicago, and at Carnegie Hall with the New England Symphonic Ensemble, in addition to appearances in Baltimore, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Miami and Atlanta. Her recitals have been broadcast nationally by NPR stations WFMT and WETA, and her work has been featured on CNN. In 2016, Korepanova became artistic director of the Capriccio Festival in Calabria, Italy. In 2017, Korepanova launched Music for Minds, an organization designed to increase public engagement with classical music.

$30 general, $15 for UMBC faculty and staff, free to UMBC students, free to patrons 18 years of age and younger. Tickets may be purchased online — — and will also be available at the door. Advance ticket purchases are strongly recommended, and subscription ticket packages are available.

0 Comments (requires login)