Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Staff

Woodwinds, Brass, and PercussionStrings Piano & Keyboards – Jazz StudiesVoice

Composition/Music TheoryMusic Education – Music TechnologyMusicology/Ethnomusicology Conducting– Staff

 

 

Name Contact Info Area
Woodwind, Brass, and Percussion

matt5

 Mr. Matt Belzer

Office: 410-455-3123
Room: PAHB 265
belzer@umbc.edu

Associate Department Chair
Senior Lecturer
Saxophone
Director of Jazz Studies
Jazz Ensemble
Jazz Combos
Mr. Wayne Cameron wcc@waynecameron.com
Affiliate Artist
Trumpet
cella_lgDr. Lisa Cella Office: 410-455-1405
Room: PAHB 264
cella@umbc.edu
Department Chair
Professor
Director of Certificate Programs
Flute
Musicianship
Career Development for the Musician

Ms. Chandra Cervantes

chandra.cervantes5@gmail.com Affiliate Artist
Horn
Crossland1_000Dr. Patrick Crossland jpcross@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Trombone
Musicianship
Jazz History
New Music Ensemble
Daglar_000Ms. Fatma Daglar fdaglar@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Oboe
goldsteinMr. Tom Goldstein Office: 410-455-3911
Room: PAHB 259
goldstei@umbc.edu
Associate Professor
Percussion
Percussion Ensemble
Percussion Methods
History of Jazz
Dr. Natalie Groom  ngroom@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Clarinet
Mr. Brian Kaufman brian.kaufman@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6586
Room: PAHB 257
Associate Professor
Tuba/Euphonium
Conducting
Music Education
Wind Ensemble
Kesnerphoto2011_000Dr. Lori Kesner lkesner@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Flute
RLS - head shot

Mr. Richard Spittel

rspittel@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Bassoon
Strings
Mr. Nicholas Currie nwcurrie8@umbc.edu  Affiliate Artist
Violin
Dr. Renate Falkner renatefalkner@hotmail.com Affiliate Artist
Viola
laddMs. Gita Ladd GitaLadd@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Cello
Pollauf_lgMs. Jacqueline Pollauf jpharp@jpharp.com Affiliate Artist
Harp

Ms. Laura Ruas

lruas@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Double Bass
tremblayDr. Christian Tremblay ctremb@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Violin
yoshiokaDr. Airi Yoshioka Office: 410-455-3960
Cell: 443-386-7913
Room: PAHB 262
airiyoshioka@gmail.com
Professor
Strings Area Coordinator
Violin
Chamber Players
swiedit

Dr. Jonathan Zwi

jzwi@umbc.edu

Affiliate Artist
Guitar
Piano & Keyboards 
D-AllenMs. Deborah Allen 410-381-0133
thallenpos@msn.com
Staff Accompanist

Dr. Audrey Andrist

andrist@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Piano
 

Dr. Hui-Chuan Chen

huichuan@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Piano
Staff Accompanist
Dr. Daniel Pesca Office: 410-455-3190
Room: PAHB 260
dpesca@umbc.edu
Assistant Professor
Piano
Composition
Jazz Studies

Mr. Harry Appelman

appelman@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Jazz Piano

Mr. Tom Baldwin
tbaldwin@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Electric Bass
matt5Mr. Matt Belzer Office: 410-455-3123
Room: PAHB 265
belzer@umbc.edu
Associate Department Chair
Senior Lecturer
Director of Jazz Studies
Saxophone
Jazz Ensemble
Jazz Combos
laganaMr. Tom Lagana tlagana@comcast.net Affiliate Artist
Electric Guitar

Mr. Michael Noonan
 noon28@aol.com Affiliate Artist
Jazz Vibraphone
Mr. Scott Tiemann scott.tiemann@gmail.com Affiliate Artist
Drumset and Hand Percussion
TW-2014-hiRes
Mr. Tom Williams
tw@tomwilliamsnet.com Affiliate Artist
Jazz Trumpet
Voice
IMG_0057_000Dr. Stephen Caracciolo Office: 410-455-2922
Room: PAHB 254
caraccio@umbc.edu
Associate Professor
Vocal Area Coordinator
Voice
Camerata Chamber Choir
Conducting

Ms. Janice Jackson

Office: 410-455-3520
Room: PAHB 255
jackson@umbc.edu
Voice
Jubilee Singers
Vocal Methods

Mr. Sammy Huh

sammyhuh@umbc.edu  Affiliate Artist
Voice
Opera Workshop
Dr. Seyoung Jeong jeongs@umbc.edu Part-time adjunct lecturer
Voice
Diction
Composition/Music Theory
dusmanDr. Linda Dusman Office: 410-455-2026
Room: PAHB 263
dusman@umbc.edu
Professor
Composition
Music Theory

Dr. Bradley Green

greenbs@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Composition
macaulayDr. Janice Macaulay jmacaulay@umbc.edu Part-Time Lecturer
Music Theory
 


Dr. Daniel Pesca

Office: 410-455-3190
Room: PAHB 260
dpesca@umbc.edu
Assistant Professor
Piano
Composition

Dr. Joseph Siu

Room: PAHB 259
Office: 410-455-8043
jsiu@umbc.edu
Undergraduate Program Director
Lecturer
Academic Advising
Music Theory
Keyboard Skills
Music Cognition and Perception
Music Education
Mrs. Angelica Brooks Affiliate Artist
Music Education
IMG_0057_000Dr. Stephen Caracciolo Office: 410-455-2922
Room: PAHB 254
caraccio@umbc.edu
Associate Professor
Vocal Area Coordinator
Voice
Camerata Chamber Choir
Conducting
Dr. Edryn J. Coleman Affiliate Artist
Choral Methods
Mr. James Dorsey Affiliate Artist
General Music Methods
 

Mr. Yoshiaki Horiguchi

hyoshi1@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
String Methods

Ms. Janice Jackson

Office: 410-455-3520
Room: PAHB 255
jackson@umbc.edu
Voice
Jubilee Singers
Vocal Methods

Mr. Don Johns

Affiliate Artist
Percussion Methods
Mr. David Kauffman
Affiliate Artist
Internship Supervision
Mr. Brian Kaufman brian.kaufman@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6586
Room: PAHB 257
Associate Professor
Tuba/Euphonium
Conducting
Music Education
Wind Ensemble

Mr. Michael Martin 

martinme@aol.com Affiliate Artist
Music Education

Ms. Krystal Williams

Affiliate Artist
Music Education

Mr. Joshua Wilson

jwilson8@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Music Education
Voice

Ms. Bri’Ann Wright

Affiliate Artist
Popular Music Pedagogy

Dr. Elizabeth Palmer

Affiliate Artist
Music Education
Secondary Instrumental Methods
Music Technology
Mr. Greg Kalember PAHB 138
gkalembe@umbc.edu
Professor of the Practice
Music Technology
Mr. Alan Wonneberger Office: 410-455-8769
PAHB 139
awonn2345@umbc.edu
Senior Lecturer
Director of Recording
Music Technology
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
beckMs. Gina Beck gbeck1@umbc.edu Part-Time Lecturer
Ethnomusicology
Gamelan
Lindsay_JohnsonDr. Lindsay Johnson Office: 410-455-2941
Room: PAHB 258
lmjohnson@umbc.edu
Senior Lecturer – Department of Music
Affiliate Faculty – Department of Gender and Women’s Studies
Collegium
Musicology
Conducting
IMG_0057_000Dr. Stephen Caracciolo Office: 410-455-2922
Room: PAHB 254
caraccio@umbc.edu
Associate Professor
Vocal Area Coordinator
Voice
Camerata Chamber Choir
Conducting

Dr. Nell Flanders

nellflan@umbc.edu Visiting Lecturer in Orchestra Studies
Conducting
Mr. Brian Kaufman brian.kaufman@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6586
Room: PAHB 257
Associate Professor
Tuba/Euphonium
Conducting
Music Education
Wind Ensemble
Staff
Ms. Sarah Baugher Office: 410-455-5945
Room: PAHB 256
sbaugher@umbc.edu
Music Technical Coordinator
 

Mr. McCoy Chance

Office: 410-455-1404
Room: PAHB 238
chancem1@umbc.edu
Multimedia Technician
Mr. Jeremy Keaton Office: 410-455-8678
Room: PAHB 238
jkeaton1@umbc.edu
Concert Coordinator
velliMs. Susan Velli Office: 410-455-2990
Room: PAHB 238
velli@umbc.edu
Department Manager
Business Services Specialist
Ms. Tanja George Office: 410-455-5974
Room: PAHB 238
tanjag1@umbc.edu
Administrative Assistant II