Faculty & Staff

Woodwinds, Brass, and PercussionStrings Piano & Keyboards – Jazz StudiesVoice

Composition/Music TheoryMusic Education – Music TechnologyMusicology/Ethnomusicology Conducting– Staff

Name Contact Info Area
Woodwind, Brass, and Percussion
Mr. Matt Belzer Office: 410-455-3123
Room: PAHB 265
belzer@umbc.edu
Senior Lecturer
Saxophone
Director of Jazz Studies
Jazz Ensemble
Jazz Combos
cella_lgDr. Lisa Cella Office: 410-455-1405
Room: PAHB 264
cella@umbc.edu
Department Chair
Professor
Director of Certificate Programs
Flute
Musicianship
Career Development for the Musician
Ms. Chandra Cervantes chandra.cervantes5@gmail.com Affiliate Artist
Horn
Crossland1_000Dr. Patrick Crossland jpcross@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Trombone
Musicianship
Jazz History
New Music Ensemble
Daglar_000Ms. Fatma Daglar fdaglar@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Oboe
goldsteinMr. Tom Goldstein Office: 410-455-3911
Room: PAHB 259
goldstei@umbc.edu
Associate Professor
Percussion
Percussion Ensemble
Percussion Methods
History of Jazz
Dr. Natalie Groom ngroom@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Clarinet
Mr. Brian Kaufman brian.kaufman@umbc.edu
Office: 410-455-6586
Room: PAHB 257
Associate Professor
Tuba/Euphonium
Conducting
Music Education
Wind Ensemble
Kesnerphoto2011_000Dr. Lori Kesner lkesner@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Flute
Ms. Amy McCabe amymccab@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Trumpet
Mr. Mark Merella mmerell1@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Drum Set and Latin Percussion
RLS - head shotMr. Richard Spittel rspittel@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Bassoon
Strings
Mr. Nicholas Currie nwcurrie8@umbc.edu  Affiliate Artist
Violin
Dr. Renate Falkner renatefalkner@hotmail.com Affiliate Artist
Viola
laddMs. Gita Ladd GitaLadd@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Cello
Pollauf_lgMs. Jacqueline Pollauf jpharp@jpharp.com Affiliate Artist
Harp
Ms. Laura Ruas lruas@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Double Bass
yoshiokaDr. Airi Yoshioka Office: 410-455-3960
Cell: 443-386-7913
Room: PAHB 262
airiyoshioka@gmail.com
Professor
Strings Area Coordinator
Violin
Chamber Players
Piano & Keyboards 
D-AllenMs. Deborah Allen 410-381-0133
thallenpos@msn.com
Staff Accompanist
Dr. Audrey Andrist andrist@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Piano
Dr. Hui-Chuan Chen huichuan@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Piano
Staff Accompanist
Dr. Daniel Pesca Office: 410-455-3190
Room: PAHB 260
dpesca@umbc.edu
Assistant Professor
Piano
Composition
Jazz Studies
Mr. Harry Appelman appelman@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Jazz Piano
Mr. Tom Baldwin tbaldwin@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Electric Bass
matt5Mr. Matt Belzer Office: 410-455-3123
Room: PAHB 265
belzer@umbc.edu
Associate Department Chair
Senior Lecturer
Director of Jazz Studies
Saxophone
Jazz Ensemble
Jazz Combos
laganaMr. Tom Lagana tlagana@comcast.net Affiliate Artist
Electric Guitar
TW-2014-hiResMr. Tom Williams tw@tomwilliamsnet.com Affiliate Artist
Jazz Trumpet
Voice
Mr. James Bailey Office: 410-455-2990
Room: PAHB 238
jamesbailey@umbc.edu
Affiliate Artist
Voice
Department Manager
Business Services Specialist
Ms. Janice Jackson Office: 410-455-3520
Room: PAHB 255
jackson@umbc.edu
Voice
Jubilee Singers
Vocal Methods
Dr. Seyoung Jeong jeongs@umbc.edu Part-time adjunct lecturer
Voice
Diction
Mr. Sammy Huh sammyhuh@umbc.edu  Affiliate Artist
Voice
Opera Workshop
Dr. Kevin O’Brien Room: PAHB 254
obrienk@umbc.edu
Visiting Lecturer
Camerata
Mr. Jason Widney jwidney1@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Voice
Composition/Music Theory
dusmanDr. Linda Dusman Office: 410-455-2026
Room: PAHB 263
dusman@umbc.edu
Professor
Composition
Music Theory
Dr. Bradley Green greenbs@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Composition
macaulayDr. Janice Macaulay jmacaulay@umbc.edu Part-Time Lecturer
Music Theory
Dr. Daniel Pesca Office: 410-455-3190
Room: PAHB 260
dpesca@umbc.edu
Assistant Professor
Piano
Composition
Dr. Joseph Siu Room: PAHB 259
Office: 410-455-8043
jsiu@umbc.edu
Associate Department Chair
Undergraduate Program Director
Lecturer
Academic Advising
Music Theory
Keyboard Skills
Music Cognition and Perception
Music Education
Mrs. Angelica Brooks brooksan@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Music Education
Dr. Edryn J. Coleman edrync1@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Choral Methods
Ms. Ashley Cuthbertson Affiliate Artist
Music Education
Planning and Instruction in the Vocal/General Classroom
Mr. James Dorsey jdorse1@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
General Music Methods
 Mr. Yoshiaki Horiguchi hyoshi1@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
String Methods
Ms. Janice Jackson Office: 410-455-3520
Room: PAHB 255
jackson@umbc.edu
Voice
Jubilee Singers
Vocal Methods
Mr. Don Johns donjohns@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Percussion Methods
Mr. David Kauffman
Affiliate Artist
Internship Supervision
Mr. Brian Kaufman Office: 410-455-6586
Room: PAHB 257
brian.kaufman@umbc.edu
Associate Professor
Tuba/Euphonium
Conducting
Music Education
Wind Ensemble
Mr. Michael Martin  martinme@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Music Education
Dr. Elizabeth Palmer espalmer@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Music Education
Secondary Instrumental Methods
Ms. Krystal Williams kmwillia@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Music Education
Ms. Bri’Ann Wright bwright5@umbc.edu Affiliate Artist
Popular Music Pedagogy
Music Technology
Mr. Greg Kalember PAHB 138
gkalembe@umbc.edu
Professor of the Practice
Music Technology
Mr. Alan Wonneberger Office: 410-455-8769
PAHB 139
awonn2345@umbc.edu
Principal Lecturer
Director of Recording
Music Technology
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
beckMs. Gina Beck gbeck1@umbc.edu Part-Time Lecturer
Ethnomusicology
Gamelan
Lindsay_JohnsonDr. Lindsay Johnson Office: 410-455-2941
Room: PAHB 258
lmjohnson@umbc.edu
Senior Lecturer – Department of Music
Affiliate Faculty – Department of Gender and Women’s Studies
Collegium
Musicology
Conducting

Dr. Philip Mann
philipma@umbc.edu Assistant Professor
Conducting
Orchestra
Mr. Brian Kaufman Office: 410-455-6586
Room: PAHB 257
brian.kaufman@umbc.edu
Associate Professor
Tuba/Euphonium
Conducting
Music Education
Wind Ensemble
Staff
Mr. James Bailey Office: 410-455-2990
Room: PAHB 238
jamesbailey@umbc.edu
Department Manager
Business Services Specialist
Affiliate Artist
Voice
Ms. Sarah Baugher Office: 410-455-5945
Room: PAHB 256
sbaugher@umbc.edu
Music Technical Coordinator
Ms. Katie Bogdan Office: 410-455-2942
Room: PAHB 238
kbogdan1@umbc.edu
Administrative Assistant II
Mr. McCoy Chance Office: 410-455-1404
Room: PAHB 238
chancem1@umbc.edu
Multimedia Technician
keatonMr. Jeremy Keaton Office: 410-455-5974
Room: PAHB 238
jkeaton1@umbc.edu
Concert Coordinator