← Back to Event List

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra


Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall

Date & Time

March 8, 2024, 8:00 pm10:00 pm


Join us for an enthralling evening with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, as conductor Ken-David Masur leads the ensemble with Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony — a poignant meditation on fate — along with Toshio Hosokawa‘s contemplative Meditation to the victims of Tsunami (3.11).

The BSO will be joined by cellist Zlatomir Fung for a performance of the unusually fluid and sensitive First Cello Concerto by Camille Saint-Saëns. Since winning the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition while still a student at the Juilliard School, Fung has vaulted into the elite ranks of international soloists, cultivating “a rich, warm tone, impeccable intonation and thoughtful phrasing” (The Baltimore Sun).

The program:
Toshio Hosokawa: Meditation to the victims of Tsunami (3.11) (2011–12)
Camille Saint-Saëns: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 (1872)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36 (1877–78)
$15 general admission, $10 seniors, $5 students. (The BSO Box Office will be managing tickets for this event.)

(RSVP in myUMBC not required)